Arizona DUI Penalties: Some of the Nation’s Toughest
In Arizona, it is unlawful for the person in control of a vehicle to be under the influence of any intoxicating liquor or drugs. When you apply for a driver’s license in Arizona it is considered a privilege, not a right. By choosing to apply, you give consent for law enforcement officers to test your blood for alcohol or drug content upon any reasonable request. This is known as the implied consent law. If officers have a reasonable suspicion that makes them believe you are driving under the influence, they will request that you submit to a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test. They can use your blood, breath, urine or other bodily substances to determine the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream.
First DUI Offense
If you are found to have a BAC of above .08 percent or .04 percent for commercial vehicles, you immediately lose your driving privileges. If you refuse to take a test, you are automatically banned from driving for 12 or 24 months. You will also have to complete an alcohol screening before you can apply for a restricted permit. You can be jailed for a minimum of ten days and be fined $1,250. In some cases, you must install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle you own and perform community service. If it is your first extreme DUI offense, you may spend 30 days in prison and incur a fine of $2,500. Extreme DUIs involve a blood alcohol content over .15 percent.
Second DUI Offense
For your second offense, the penalties are much harsher. You may spend 90 days in jail and can be fined $3,000. Your license will be revoked for 12 months and you will be required to go into alcohol education or treatment. For your second extreme DUI, you can be jailed for 120 days and face fines of $3,250. Your license will be revoked and you will have to perform community service.
There are several ways that a person can commit aggravated DUI. You can be charged for committing a DUI while your license is suspended; landing your third DUI in 84 months; driving while intoxicated with a minor in the car or refusing to submit a blood alcohol test or to install an ignition interlock device. Aggravated DUIs may also be charged if you cause someone else extreme physical injury or kill someone while driving drunk. You can be sent to prison for two years and your license can be revoked for three years if you are convicted of Aggravated DUI. You must also undergo alcohol awareness training and perform community service. If you or a loved one has been held responsible for a road accident while intoxicated, contact The Oswalt Law Group in Phoenix. We have years of experience representing drivers who have been charged with DUI and will build the best possible case for you. Call us or visit our website to arrange an initial consulation.