Post Featured Image

Attention Arizona – DUI: Know The Laws

DUI charges in Arizona have very serious penalties.  However, not all DUI charges are the same, and the penalties vary from one type of DUI to another.  Here is a breakdown of the many types of charges and penalties that Arizona authorities may give to those who drive drunk.

DUI Conditions

Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy to drinking and driving.  You can be arrested for any amount of alcohol in your system provided the police can show that you were driving dangerously.  For a per se DUI charge, you must have .08 percent blood alcohol concentration.  This means that a breath, blood or urine test must show .08 percent for you to be assumed to be DUI.  However, you can still be charged even with a lower BAC. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the minimum percentage for a per se DUI charge is .04 percent.  If you are younger than 21, any alcohol content can result in DUI charges.

Extreme and Aggravated DUI

An extreme DUI is defined as driving with a blood alcohol content of .15 percent or higher.  Aggravated DUI is when you have are charged with DUI while driving on a suspended license, a third DUI offense within 84 months, or a DUI committed while a passenger in your vehicle is younger than 15 years old.

Penalties for DUI

Standard DUI penalties include the following:

  • 10 days in jail, with a minimum of 24 hours to be served
  • A fine of $1,250 or more
  • License revocation of at least 90 days
  • Completion of an alcohol education program
  • An ignition interlock requirement for your vehicle
  • Community service

If you are convicted a second time within seven years of DUI, your jail time can increase to 90 days, your fine to $3,000, and your license revocation to 12 months. Extreme DUI penalties include the following:

  • 30 days in jail
  • A fine of $2,500 or more
  • Required completion of an alcohol education program
  • An ignition interlock requirement in your vehicle
  • Community service

Subsequent extreme DUI convictions include penalties of 120 days in jail, fines of $3,250, license revocation for 12 months, and ignition interlock requirements. Aggravated DUI is a felony.  If you are convicted, you could face:

  • 2 years in jail
  • Three years of license suspension
  • Required educational programs
  • Ignition interlocks
  • Community service

If you are facing a DUI charge, do not wait.  Contact the attorneys at Oswalt Law Group in Phoenix for help today.

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.