New Rankings Shows Arizona is Toughest State in the Union for DUI Laws
Arizona law is notoriously tough when it comes to enforcement of driving under the influence (DUI) laws. If you’re ever asked to blow into a breathalyzer, keep in mind that Arizona is blowing away all other 49 states in terms of being tough on impaired driving. WalletHub, a personal finance website, has just released rankings of the strictest and most lenient states in enforcing DUI laws for 2016.
The Grand Canyon State ranked #1 in DUI criminal penalties and #2 in prevention. In determining their rankings, WalletHub poured over 15 separate measurements, including minimal jail time and minimum sentence for first DUI offense (10 days and $750 in Arizona), added penalties for a higher blood alcohol content reading, etc. Just for comparison, South Dakota – which came in dead last in the rankings – has no minimum sentence or minimum fine for DUI charges. The complete Top 10 rankings for the toughest states on DUIs are:
- West Virginia
Other Key Findings From WalletHub’s Study
There were a host of other interesting findings in the study from WalletHub.
- The average fine nationwide for a first DUI ($347) is higher than what you would pay an Uber driver to take you from Washington, DC to New York ($342).
- 92% of states nationwide force offender to install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles after being arrested for DUI.
- Repeat offenders remain in jail nearly three weeks longer than first-time offenders.
If You’ve Been Charged With DUI, You Need Legal Representation – Especially in Arizona!
As you can tell from the information above, the Arizona legal system is the most aggressive in the land when it comes to DUI enforcement. That’s why you need expert legal advice in helping to reduce your charges or have them thrown out altogether. Call The Oswalt Law Group for a free consultation. Our number is (602) 225-2222.