Spring Training Brings Us Baseball, Tourists and DUIs
With spring training in full season and millions of fans from across the country expected to visit Arizona to catch their favorite teams, Arizona law enforcement officials are sure to step up their DUI patrols. As far as law enforcement is concerned, the combination of sunshine and beer – both in abundance – means chances are better than average that the number of impaired drivers on our roads will be in the upswing. As we’ve stated numerous times, Arizona is a no-tolerance state when it comes to DUI. Not nearly enough emphasis can be placed on the word “no” in no-tolerance. First-time offenders are often looking at up to 10 days in jail and potentially $1,500 in fines. The best advice we can give you in avoiding a DUI is simple: don’t get behind the wheel if you’re impaired. There are options: get a cab, ask a sober friend to drive, sleep it off, etc. If, however, you are pulled over by law enforcement, other than being courteous and polite to the officer, you should say very little. If you’re pulled over specifically for DUI, you can bet that the officer will ask you to take a blood alcohol test. While you have the right to refuse it, do so can immediately result in loss of your license and heavy fines.
Your First Call Should be to an Attorney
If you’re charged with DUI, your head will probably be spinning – and not because of the alcohol. You may not realize it at the time, but there are a host of options available to you after being charged. That’s because no two DUI charges are alike. While you may be caught off balance, your first line of action should be to call an attorney, preferably one skilled in litigating DUI cases. If you or an acquaintance been charged with DUI, you definitely need legal representation to potentially save you from paying thousands in fines, serving jail time and having a criminal record. We invite you to contact the Oswalt Law Group for a free consultation. Our number is (602) 225-2222.