What Happens If You’re Caught Driving Without Insurance in Arizona?
If you’re ever involved in an auto accident, insurance will definitely be involved in some way. If you’re an Arizona driver and do not have insurance, you’re courting some serious legal trouble. In this article, we’ll talk about what can happen if you’re caught driving or cause an accident and have no insurance.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Arizona
Arizona, like most other states, does require that its drivers have auto insurance. In fact, the Grand Canyon State takes things a bit further and stipulates a minimum amount of insurance:
- $10,000 for property damage
- $15,000 in bodily injury liability for one person
- $30,000 in bodily injury for two or more persons
Proof of your insurance must be presented when you register a new vehicle at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You can’t legally drive until you’ve provided proof of insurance.
What Happens If You’re In An Accident And Don’t Have Insurance?
Technically, Arizona is a fault state, so what happens depends on who actually caused the accident. If the other driver caused the accident, chances are that you’ll be fine. That driver will notify their insurance company and handle things from there. If you caused the accident and do not have insurance, the best-case scenario is that the crash only damaged yourself and your vehicle. That’s the best-case because you can pay your own bills as you see fit. However, if the other driver was injured, you can be sued for personal injury, and if the court does find you at fault you’ll have to pay up.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona
The DOT requires all Arizona drivers to carry proof of financial responsibility when asked by law enforcement officers. If you are issued a citation for not having proof, your license, registration and license plates can be suspended for a full year. Here’s how the penalties break down for failing to provide proof of active insurance:
- First offense; $500 fine and suspension of license, registration, and plates for three (3) months
- Second offense; $750 fine and suspension of license, registration, and plates for six (6) months
- Third (and subsequent) offenses; $1,000 fine and suspension of license, registration, and plates for one (1) year
Call The Oswalt Law Group
If you’re facing charges of driving without insurance, there are options available to you. Call us here at The Oswalt Law Group for a free consultation; our number is 602-225-2222.